HERBAL PRODUCTS : FAQ

What is a plant protection product (PPP) ?

This term refers specifically to the uses of plant pesticides (agricultural and non-agricultural use, such as in gardens or green areas of the municipalities). There are mainly three categories : herbicides (against weeds), fungicides (to fight against fungi) and insecticides (to control insects). Other products have an action on the rodents (rodonticides), on snails and slugs (molluscicides). According to the definition given by article L. 253-1 of the rural code, they also include products containing GMOS that destroy the undesirable species.

What is a WMA ?

The Authorisation of the Placing on the Market (AMM) is the agreement given to a holder of the rights to operate a specialty commercial plant industrially produced so that it can commercialize. All plant protection product must be distributed under a No-LABEL, it must appear on the label of the product.

All marketing authorisations granted in France are listed on the site http://e-phy.agriculture.gouv.fr/

What is a MSDS ?

The Safety Data Sheet est a form containing data regarding the properties of a chemical substance.

These sheets are an important element of health and safety for the users of the products and for those who treat their remains, residues, or waste soaked with these products toxic and/or hazardous , but also for caregivers, by informing staff ofthe emergency (including poison centres) on the risks associated with these products and the ways to reduce them.

These sheets are widely used for cataloging information on chemicals. They should be able to find anywhere where a substance is used. In Europe, in particular, they must be distributed by the manufacturer or distributor of the product to the customer and in the language of the latter.

What are the risks associated with the use of PPP ?

On the man :

The plant protection products are known to scientists since the 60s for their nuisances on human health. Their exposure increases the risk of neurodegenerative diseases, hematologic and reproductive disorders and several types of cancers (gliomas, sarcomas, prostate cancers, etc). These risks are outlined by risk phrases used on the labels of the products concerned :

    • H301 Toxic by inhalation
    • H302 Harmful if swallowed
    • EUH029 contact with water liberates toxic gas
    • H314 Causes severe skin burns and serious eye damage.
    • H315 Causes skin irritation.
    • H351 suspected of causing cancer
    • H350 May cause cancer
    • H340 May cause genetic defects
    • H360 May damage to fertility or the fetus.
    • H361 May cause harm to fertility or the fetus.
    • H362 May be harmful for the infants fed with breast milk.


On the environment :

The risks to the environment are diverse, they are set by risk phrases which shall be affixed on the labels of the products concerned :

    • H400 Very toxic to aquatic organisms
    • H411-Toxic to aquatic organisms, may cause long-term adverse effects term.
    • H412 Harmful to aquatic organisms, may cause long-term adverse effects term.
    • EUH401 Follow the instructions of use to avoid risks to human health and the environment.
    • EUH059 Hazardous to the ozone layer

 

To reduce the risk, it is appropriate to limit the application of these products (other solutions say "organic" may exist, see section " Control Alternative ") and to protect themselves appropriately (see " PPE : personal Protective Equipment ").

Are there PPP more or less harmful ?

PPPS are classified by level of dangerousness, the pictograms used on the labels of products that give you an indication of the type of danger associated with its use (see sheet on " Good Practices Phyto ").

The reference environment agency japan (Permitted use in the Garden) guarantees a level of less harmful nature.

The mention UAB (Usable in Organic Farming) guarantees that the active substance used in the product does not present an unacceptable risk to human or animal health or to the environment when the product is used under normal conditions related to its authorization on the market (AMM).

What types of PPP can I use for my garden ?

According to the decree of 6 October 2004 concerning the conditions of authorization and the use of the term " permitted use in the gardens " for plant protection products as amended by the decree of 26 July 2005, the specialties with the words " Employment Authorized in the Gardens (EAJ ) " are the only products that can be sold to non-professional (amateur gardeners) and used by them because they have guarantees of less harmful nature.

What are the Maximum Residue Limits (MRLS) and Pre-Harvest intervals (phi's) ?

MRLS are the maximum concentrations of regulatory active substances, which must not be exceeded in foodstuffs. They are set during the toxicological studies for the obtaining of the marketing authorisation.

Comply with the requirements of use of a product defined by the WMA, particularly in relation to the Pre-Harvest interval (PHI), does not exceed the MRL of this product.

The DAR is the time required for the degradation of the plant protection product after treatment that must be met before harvesting. If no DAR is not indicated on the label of the DAR is then 3 days.

Follow the instructions on the label.. !

 COMPANY APPROVED BY THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE FOR THE SALE OF PRODUCTS and PHYTO-PHARMACEUTICALS TO NON-PROFESSIONAL USERS

Registration number : IF01878

More information

 


Top

PRODUITS PHYTO : FAQ

Qu’est-ce qu’un produit phytopharmaceutique (PPP) ?

Ce terme désigne spécifiquement les utilisations végétales des pesticides (agricole et non agricoles, comme dans les jardins ou les espaces verts des communes). Il existe principalement trois catégories : les herbicides (contre les mauvaises herbes), les fongicides (pour lutter contre les champignons) et les insecticides (pour lutter contre les insectes). D'autres produits ont une action sur les rongeurs (rodonticides), sur les escargots et les limaces (molluscicides). D'après la définition donnée par l'article L.253-1 du code rural, ils comprennent aussi les produits contenant des OGM ayant pour fonction de détruire les espèces indésirables.

Qu’est-ce qu’une AMM ?

L’Autorisation de Mise sur le Marché (AMM) est l'accord donné à un titulaire des droits d’exploitation d’une spécialité commerciale phytopharmaceutique fabriquée industriellement pour qu’il puisse la commercialiser. Tout produit de protection des plantes doit être distribué sous un N° d’AMM, il doit obligatoirement figurer sur l’étiquette du produit.

Toutes les AMM accordées en France sont répertoriées sur le site http://e-phy.agriculture.gouv.fr/

Qu’est-ce qu’une FDS ?

La Fiche de Données de Sécurité est un formulaire contenant des données relatives aux propriétés d'une substance chimique.

Ces fiches sont un élément important de la santé et sécurité pour les utilisateurs des produits et pour ceux qui traitent leurs restes, résidus, ou des déchets souillés par ces produits toxiques et/ou dangereux mais aussi pour les soignants, en informant le personnel d'urgence (dont les centres antipoison) sur les risques liés à ces produits et les moyens de les réduire.

Ces fiches sont très utilisées pour cataloguer l'information sur les produits chimiques. On doit pouvoir les trouver partout où une substance est utilisée. En Europe, elles doivent notamment être distribuées par le fabricant ou le distributeur du produit au client et dans la langue de ce dernier.

 Quels sont les risques liés à l’utilisation de PPP ?

Sur l’homme :

Les produits phytopharmaceutiques sont connus des scientifiques depuis les années 60 pour leurs nuisances sur la santé humaine. Leur exposition augmente les risques de maladies neurodégénératives, d'hémopathies et de troubles de la reproduction et de plusieurs types de cancers (gliomessarcomescancers de la prostate, etc.). Ces risques sont énoncés par des phrases de risques apposées sur les étiquettes des produits concernés :

    • H301 Toxique par inhalation 
    • H302 Nocif en cas d’ingestion 
    • EUH029 Au contact de l’eau, dégage des gaz toxiques
    • H314 Provoque des brûlures de la peau et des lésions oculaires graves.
    • H315 Provoque une irritation cutanée.
    • H351 Susceptible de provoquer le cancer 
    • H350 Peut provoquer le cancer
    • H340 Peut induire des anomalies génétiques 
    • H360 Peut nuire á la fertilité ou au fœtus. 
    • H361 Susceptible de nuire á la fertilité ou au fœtus. 
    • H362 Peut être nocif pour les bébés nourris au lait maternel.


Sur l’environnement :

Les risques sur l’environnement sont divers, ils sont énoncés par des phrases de risques qui doivent être apposées sur les étiquettes des produits concernés :

    • H400 Très toxique pour les organismes aquatiques
    • H411 Toxique pour les organismes aquatiques, entraîne des effets néfastes à long terme.
    • H412 Nocif pour les organismes aquatiques, entraîne des effets néfastes à long terme.
    • EUH401 Respectez les instructions d’utilisation pour éviter les risques pour la santé humaine et l’environnement.
    • EUH059 Dangereux pour la couche d’ozone

 

Pour réduire les risques, il convient de limiter l’application de ces produits (d’autres solutions dites « bio » peuvent exister, voir rubrique « Lutte Alternative ») et de se protéger de manière appropriée (voir rubrique « EPI : Equipement de Protection Individuel »).

Existe-t-il des PPP plus ou moins nocifs ?

Les PPP sont classés par niveau de dangerosité, des pictogrammes présents sur les étiquettes des produits vous donnent l’indication du type de danger lié à son utilisation (voir fiche « Bonnes Pratiques Phyto »).

La mention EAJ (Emploi Autorisé en Jardin) garantit un niveau de moindre dangerosité.

La mention UAB (Utilisable en Agriculture Biologique) garantit que la substance active utilisée dans le produit ne présente pas de risque inacceptable pour la santé humaine ou animale, ni pour l’environnement lorsque le produit est utilisé dans les conditions normales liées à son autorisation de mise sur le marché (AMM).

Quels types de PPP puis-je utiliser pour mon jardin ?

D’après l’arrêté du 6 octobre 2004 relatif aux conditions d’autorisation et d’utilisation de la mention « emploi autorisé dans les jardins » pour les produits phytopharmaceutiques modifié par l’arrêté du 26 juillet 2005, les spécialités bénéficiant de la mention « Emploi Autorisé dans les Jardins (EAJ ) » sont les seuls produits qui peuvent être vendus aux personnes non professionnelles (jardiniers amateurs) et utilisés par ces derniers car ils présentent des garanties de moindre dangerosité.

Que sont les Limites Maximales de Résidus (LMR) et ses Délais Avant Récolte (DAR) ?

Les LMR sont les concentrations maximales réglementaires de substances actives qui ne doivent pas être dépassées dans les denrées alimentaires. Elles sont définies lors des études toxicologiques effectuées pour l’obtention de l’AMM.

Respecter les prescriptions d’utilisation d’un produit définies par l’AMM, particulièrement en ce qui concerne le Délai Avant Récolte (DAR), permet de ne pas dépasser la LMR de ce produit.

Le DAR est le temps nécessaire à la dégradation du produit phytosanitaire après traitement que l’on doit respecter avant de récolter. Si aucune DAR n’est indiquée sur l’étiquette la DAR est alors de 3 jours.

Respectez les consignes de l’étiquette.. !

 ENTREPRISE AGREE PAR LE MINISTERE DE L’AGRICULTURE POUR LA VENTE DE PRODUITS PHYTO-PHARMACEUTIQUES AUX UTILISATEURS NON PROFESSIONNELS

Numéro d’agrément : IF01878

Plus d'informations

 


Haut